Better Late Than Never

Hey there!

Touching on the “consistency” theme from last week, you may notice that this newsletter edition is coming out later in the day, but still on a Monday. Again, not wanting to break the streak, I’m sitting in bed writing this on my phone. I thought about skipping this week since it was Memorial Day weekend, but then I thought, that’s a terrible excuse. So what can I talk about?

It was a pretty decent week for online orders between TikTok Shop and Etsy. I had three wooden oval serving tray orders come in and about 35 sets of pocket hole jig jigs come in (still working on the name for them lol). The jigs I’m able to produce with my 3D printers (my 3D Print Farm) and the oval trays are a mix of my CNC Machine and hand finishing. I like this mix of making mediums - 3D printing and woodworking - and it further emphasizes my brand “Doing Whatever”. The fact is, I enjoy mixing up what I work with/on all the time. Between 3D printing, CNCing, woodworking, metalworking, fiberglassing, diy projects, and home renovation stuff, all of it keeps me interested in the overall Making world, and there’s endless things to learn between all of it. Maybe that’s what I enjoy most, learning 🤔

You may be thinking of the “jack of all trades, master of none” quote right now, but if you didn’t know, that’s often misquoted. The full quote is this:

 "a jack of all trades is a master of none, but oftentimes better than a master of one"

I enjoy learning a little about a lot - to me, it keeps things interesting.

Editor’s Pick 🤩

  • Video - My wife wanted to know if I could install vinyl plank flooring in our bathrooms on the first level. We have a few leftover boxes from when we finished our basement, but I hired that out back then. Seems pretty straightforward so now I’m brushing up on my FTBT videos for any pointers. I’ll likely make a video of my own on this so stay tuned!

  • Book - Haven’t been able to read much lately so “Million Dollar Weekend” by Noah Kagan is still in progress. - it’s a bestseller on Amazon. Here’s the link (affiliate) - https://amzn.to/3ULKpqk

  • Weekly Wisdom 🧠: As the title reads “Better Late Than Never”. Although it would be better to be on time, the fact that I still wrote this edition is a win for me. It’s easy to skip a week and say we’ll catch up the next week, but slowly 1 missed week turns into 2, and then 3 and so on. It reminds me of a rule that Matt D’Avella follows for workouts - “can’t miss two days in a row”. Overtime that consistency builds habits, and those habits are very likely to stick if you’ve built up that routine for a long time.

And finally, on this Memorial Day, let us remember the brave men and women who’ve sacrificed so much to protect the freedoms we often take for granted. Let their memories not be forgotten.

Until next week,

Ryan

P.S.

Know someone who would love Doing Whatever Weekly? Forward this email and invite them to join the creative journey!

P.S.S.

Want deals on tools delivered to you inbox daily? Join Daily Tool Deals! I find tool deals and send them to you…awesome, right?!

Daily Tool DealsTool Deals. Emailed. Daily.

Reply

or to participate.