Why Start A Newsletter?

Why I am

Hey there!

So why am I starting a newsletter? A couple reasons:

  1. I want to improve my writing skills in order to communicate my ideas better. Hopefully the more I do this, the better those skills become. And although this is a non-verbal form of communication, I’m hoping by improving my writing skills that will also improve my verbal communication skills as well.

  2. It’s a form of accountability. Currently I have two subscribers to my newsletter - myself and a coworker I had test it out lol. But I’m hoping as more people subscribe, they somewhat hold me accountable to keep this going every week. We’ll see, but that’s my hope!

  3. And lastly, everyone online that I follow and deem successful has a newsletter to communicate with their personal following. A newsletter isn’t based on a social media algorithm that can change at any time, making it one of, if not the only, form of communication with your audience that you have full control over. Plus this way I can keep everyone updated on some behind the scenes stuff, and possibly share some exclusive deals with everyone as well!

That’s kind of what I’m thinking. So let’s start this journey of a weekly newsletter!

Editor’s Pick 🤩

  • Video - whenever I’m in a “production slump” I always find myself revisiting productivity videos from Ali Abdaal. His videos are top notch and I always learn something from them. This video is how he uses notion for video production. Link - https://youtu.be/uJgv0XQOehs?si=Nt9NnUG_OEFnICem

  • Podcast - a podcast episode that I think surprised most people this week was when comedian Theo Von hosted financial expert Dave Ramsey on his show. If you know anything about these two guys, you can imagine why this would be an unexpected crossover, but it was actually a really awesome episode! Here’s the link - https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/this-past-weekend-w-theo-von/id1190981360?i=1000654016630

  • Book - I just started reading “Million Dollar Weekend” by Noah Kagan. Only a chapter into it at this point but heard it’s an excellent book - it’s a bestseller on Amazon already. Here’s the link (affiliate) - https://amzn.to/3ULKpqk

  • Weekly Wisdom 🧠: The best advice is sometimes the most obvious and simple. And to go along with the theme of this week’s newsletter, I’ll say this: if you have an idea of something you want to work on, something you want to do, anything like that - just start. Don’t over analyze, just start. And so with this newsletter, I’m just starting. It’s not going to be perfect from the start, it’ll take time to get a rhythm going, but this is getting the wheels in motion at least.

Until next week,

Ryan

P.S. Know someone who would love Doing Whatever Weekly? Forward this email and invite them to join the creative journey!

Reply

or to participate.